Apricot Sorbet

A strange fact about me is that growing up, I really didn’t like much fruit. Sure, I could deal with apples and bananas, and thoroughly enjoyed strawberries and grapefruits with lots of added sugar, but that was it. I particularly hated peaches and all other fuzzy fruits. The texture was weird and the juice was obnoxious. This coming from a child who always loved broccoli. Yeah, I don’t get it either.

Then when I was 17, I traveled to Italy with a school group and was served a dessert I had no choice in ordering. Also, I had no clue what it was. It just appeared in front of me, no explanation. So, I ate. And I liked it. There was some kind of baked or grilled fruit in it. Come to find later it was apricot. 9 years later I found myself in Dürnstein, Austria, home of the apricot. Every shop was selling apricots – apricot jam, apricot soap, apricot schnapps. And all of it tasted fantastic.

(Marille is German for apricot. I think it such a prettier name.)

Suffice to say, I had found one fuzzy fruit I like. I still really dislike peaches. The flavor is OK, but I’ve tried peaches in so many forms, and mostly, I just hate them. Sad, I know. In any case, apricots were everywhere in my grocery store two weeks ago, so I decided to make sorbet.

This was unbelievably simple.

Take about 2 lbs of ripe, squishy apricots, give or take. Slice in half, remove pit, and slice into smaller pieces. Put into a medium saucepan with 1 cup water, and heat over medium heat until soft and cooked through, stirring occasionally. This will likely take around 10 minutes.

Remove from heat, and stir in 1 cup sugar. Cool to room temperature.

Once it has cooled down, put into a blender and puree until smooth. If you like chunky sorbet, blend on a lower setting for not as long. This is up to you. If you’re going for smoother (which I was), pour through a mesh sieve after pureed, pushing gently through with a spoon. (I used a wooden one.) You do not have to do this, but ultimately, I think the texture was superior. Stir in vanilla extract to taste (about a tsp is good). Cover and chill thoroughly in the fridge. Overnight is preferred.

When chilled, put into your ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instruction for your model. It took less than 10 minutes in my Kitchenaid Mixer Ice Cream Maker attachment, but probably could have gone a tad longer. Immediately put into freezer for at least 2 hours.

With many sorbets, you can leave out the sugar. I would discourage doing that with this one, because apricots have a strong flavor. As it was, it tasted purely like apricots – everything simply enhanced the apricot flavor. It is unbelievably refreshing. I strongly recommend it! Get thee an ice cream maker! It’s so worth it! Not convincing enough? They say that keeper your freezer very full makes it more efficient, because it takes less effort to freeze everything in it – less circulating air. Make ice cream! 🙂

Thanks to Annie’s Eats for the brilliant idea!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

